Poets logo

Friendship’s Candy Trail

Poetry

By Debra DavisPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Friendship’s Candy Trail
Photo by Microsoft 365 on Unsplash

And so, she changed.

Transformed into a positive negativity.

Once so sweet and weak

is now a strong and cruel woman.

IF I HAD KNOWN, I’D HAVE KEPT HER QUIET.

We all urged her on.

Past usurpation and subordination.

Shed off that feminine skin.

Break free from the powerlessness.

IF I HAD KNOWN, SHE WOULD’VE STAYED UNHEARD.

What power did she grasp,

A golden bough, a silver chalice,

An unholy vine of being.

Thought to destroy like Diana on a full moon?

IF I HAD KNOWN, WOULD WE HAVE BEEN FRIENDS?

The friction rubs us raw and threadbare,

Full of hateful spite towards others,

Formulated to destroy another.

For lying, for trying for not crying enough!

IF I HAD KNOWN I’D BE LONELY, I WOULD’VE WALKED.

So this is the crack in the sidewalk,

The droppings of the past,

The candy trail to endings

Of friendship and destiny.

So this is how she goes

In a discount game

Leaving me a humble victim hiding.

Carrying leftovers of soul in a Tupperware dish.

IF I WAS STRONGER, I’D CRY.

But I’m fighting the battle too.

and just watch her walk away.

without yelling

STOP!

And so, to take that risk,

It’s too much for me.

This poem was originally published on Medium

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakart
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.