Poets logo

Friend Of Myself Is My Only Friend

Ending Of A Friendship

By Asea B MoorePublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
Like
Friend Of Myself Is My Only Friend
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Liquid courage from my can of bliss slows down my thoughts,

Heightened hippocampus from my cannabis reveals mysteries,

Accepted that a friend was against me, and it had me distraught,

Realizing that they never wanted the best for me,

Red flags were there, but our history was my blindspot,

Whatever they couldn't accomplish, they didn't want me to accomplish either,

Crossed fingers and a dagger behind my back were hard to spot,

Fake praise and support from a deceiver made me a believer,

Celebrating everyone around them, minus me on I.G,

Mimicking my vibes and regurgitating my beliefs,

Competing and disguising it as admiration out of pure jealousy,

Lack of authenticity and insecurities made them a thief,

Treated them like chosen family and started a pack,

Shepherd them to elevate themselves and find tranquility,

Enthused in my downfall while the corner of their mouth starts to crack,

A wolf in sheep's clothing with internal animosity,

Always lent a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen,

Carried some of their trauma while putting mine on the back burner,

Emotionally dumping on me instead of doing the work within,

Relying on me to solve their problems instead of their partner,

A damsel in distress,

Weaponizing tears to manipulate a tiny violin,

The cosplay friend is depressed,

Insecurities are too much, and it's hard for them to pretend,

The body in their bed is not who they hoped and prayed for,

Embodying female masculinity that emasculates a man,

Settling in a rebound relationship that doesn't fulfill them anymore,

Wanting better for themselves was never part of their plan,

Seeking validation through captions about seeing the light after dark days,

It's hard to believe since they don't acknowledge their deceptive ways,

Projecting misery and emotionally draining everyone around them,

Comparing other people's blessings and competing to fail,

Radiating low self-esteem while simultaneously playing the victim,

Passing judgment on others while living in their delusional fairytale,

Always broke bread with them when I achieved something,

Only to realize that they didn't have the same generosity toward me,

Severing ties with Judas in my thirties is my sliver lining,

Fraudulent friendship is no longer part of my reality,

Reestablishing my boundaries while processing their apathy,

Miserable people can only see through jade-colored glasses,

Past subliminal shade and underhanded remarks were catty,

Seventeen years down the drain is a lot to process,

Manifesting my Soul Tribe while reflecting on this closed chapter,

Wholehearted philosophical souls that are passion-driven,

Genuine people that aren't threatened by my character,

Secure people who uplift me when I'm thriven

- - -

Thanks for reading! It means a lot. Continue to support by clicking the heart button, which allows my work to progress and grow. Tips are welcomed as well :) ~Love and Light, Ase’

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Asea B Moore

"A seed grows with no sound but a tree falls with huge noise. Destruction has noise, but creation is quiet. This is power of silence...Grow Silently" -Confucius

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Asea B Moore is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.