Poets logo

freedom

a poem about independence

By Canaan TricePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
freedom
Photo by Eunice Stahl on Unsplash

standing room only

the seats have been filled

alone again

but it was my choice

I wonder

what does it even mean?

I want it

the butterflies in my tummy beg for an escape

the laughter bubbles to the surface

the joy radiates through my entire being

I won’t need a seat

dancing through the aisle of disappointment

I gain strength in the trenches

my heart longs for companionship but my soul can taste the freedom

so close

I choose the latter

freedom is attainable, and I refuse to let this moment slip through my fingers

the wind joins my skin

the soul gets a taste again

I whisper back “take me with you”

lying in a field of wildflowers

alone

this is home

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.