Poets logo

grief in the lungs

a poem of process

By Canaan TricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
grief in the lungs
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

grief in the lungs

you’re gone and I can’t breathe

maybe this all has to do with how Jesus was stabbed in the side on crucifixion day

is it all symbolism?

I was never created to grieve or to experience loss and trauma

in a perfect world I am whole

because of Jesus, I am whole in an imperfect world

I carry grief in my lungs, but my father has given me breath

I am not afraid to heal

I can breathe when the odds are against me

and the odds are against me

I am free

I can breathe

the unknown is scary

it was made for me

I am free

I can breathe

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.