Poets logo

Free as Ye

The cry of the breeze

By Elisabeth HeslopPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Free as Ye
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

You think of wind: you think of air,

You think of breezes, light and fair.

You see no leash; you think no chain,

No shackle can my will restrain.

You think me wild, you think me free,

You think me filled with heedless glee.

You see me not, you hear me rare,

My dreams, my pleas beyond your care.

You think I laugh, as swift I fly.

You do not think the wind would cry.

You do not know, you do not ken,

The wind might long for cote or pen.

I am but he who roils the sea

And wishes he were free as ye

To put down roots, to build a nest,

To make a home, a place to rest.

©2015 Elisabeth Heslop

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.