Poets logo

Fragile Invincibility

Finding Strength in Weakness

By SyncerePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

There are some days I awake
With a smile on my face.
At times it feels too few
And far apart.
There are others that
Melancholia imbued
Causes me to go
Forth and create art
Times I'm sleep deprived
And giddy. Others well rested
And full of self pity
A wild ride on the emotional rollercoaster
That we call existence.
Some days I'm affectionate and soft
Offering a shoulder to lean
An ear to hear
Others I'm trapped in a prison of my mind
Battling my own demons and fear
I can't always find the words to say that I'm
Terrified about my fate
But I'd gladly give my life to protect
The ones I love, save them from all pain
God, I wish those things I could articulate
I fear they won't understand until
It's too late.
So I leave a few precious gems to find
Small, intimate glimpses into my mind
And hope the sum total of my being be
A lesson in fragile invincibility

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Syncere

Syncere (noun) An author/poet & barely tolerable human being. Masterful trickster of family & friends, as they actually support her. In another life, could've been a failed comedienne. In the grand scheme of the multiverse, she already is.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.