Poets logo

I Define Me

Not Society

By SyncerePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

As I take a look around
Though I see all the diversity
Societal constructs quite profound
Robbing us of individuality
All of my life I've been told
That I only fit into the mold
My skin, my melanin, my hair
How dare I try putting on airs
I should be grateful for the bare
Minimum "'cause life just isn't fair"
These things ring untrue to my ear
I've been raised to show no fear
I'm born and bred to persevere
To my ascension I draw near
I'm built from solid stock for sure
My roots are deep my heart is pure
I season my words to cushion the blow
These hands are not simply for show
I fight for every breath I take
I may bend but I won't break
I bleed when cut and may shed tears
But then I heal and raise the tier
You can't match my spirit, my wit
My intellect? I'm too legit
So to those who seek to label me
I promise soon you will see
I will be making her-story
Cause I am determined
And only I define me.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Syncere

Syncere (noun) An author/poet & barely tolerable human being. Masterful trickster of family & friends, as they actually support her. In another life, could've been a failed comedienne. In the grand scheme of the multiverse, she already is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, so good! You had me hooked with those first four lines. I liked the playing with there being diversity but still the lack of individuality. Very true! This was excellently written!

  • K. P. Gordon2 years ago

    This is the best poem of yours I've read yet. Really felt the power in this one, the sense of self, the confidence, the energy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.