Poets logo

Forgotten past

Faded memory

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Forgotten past
Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

Anxiety. A hard subject to discuss.

Not because you can’t explain the meaning,

But because of what happens to us.

And happened, you know, “post”

It makes you feel like an outer body experience,

And trust, quite the opposite of desipience.

Heart racing, intrusive thoughts, and your the recipient.

You can’t imagine the feeling.

Multiple things can cause this bullshit disorder,

My story is long but I’ll try to make it shorter.

ITEM #1 was a dream about my daughter.

Well, way less off a dream, it was nothing but a nightmare,

Story is, a broken bridge, and a storm in the night air,

And there’s my baby girl, barley 1 hardly walking right there!

Can you imagine seeing your baby girl fall?

I really seen her hit the ground, and all those feelings I can still recall.

I stayed up for two days after that scared to go to sleep and see that shit again.

Someone must have pulled that shit right out the devils den,

Snuck into my dreams, and pushed it in just like a pin.

You still can’t imagine half the shit I saw!

Flashbacks from weather, screams, or a bridge that’s tall!

And that’s just one thing that causes all this truama.

I won’t speak much on the my other situations,

Like the time I was little, all I remember is a cop giving me a teady bear, and a boy being arrested for molestation.

Or the multiple times I’ve seen my mom get beat, and O.D. And ambulance information.

Or getting her room number from the hospital administration.

No wonder people think I need evaluations and examinations

just look at my life combinations.

Trust me there’s more, but all these thoughts, I’d like to ignore.

My hearts already sore and my mind is at war,

So the next time any of this is spoken,

ill be sitting on gods floor.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.