Poets logo

Fighting myself

Two sides

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fighting myself
Photo by 𝗔𝗹𝗲𝘅 𝘙𝘢𝘪𝘯𝘦𝘳 on Unsplash

Every time I look at my lifestyle it gets serious, walk around, shoulders tucked, looking all mysterious,

I guess you could say I’m a little lyrically delirious because everything I held inside made me insidious, heartless, ready to depart quick.

But don’t say shit about me when you fighting your own demons, your nothing but a bum, but put a front on like you got more faith then three nuns.

Did you forget I knew the real you? Always trynna find some more shit to get into, anything to get you through? Yeah, put my name down, make me a clown, imma put you under review!

Damn you thought you could hide it, but imma spill all your secrets,

You nervous now? We can see those cheek cuts!

Wait, lift up ya sleeve? Damn you got some deep ruts..

Imma bully loud and proud! Lifted myself up now! I’m on a different level, I can almost touch the clouds!

But shit you still won’t go out in big crowds?

Sounds a little inconspicuous, must be from lack of communication responsiveness, please! Say more! Give ‘em a reason to belittle and convict us!

See, my problem is giving to much trust to people who don’t deserve it, I’m tired of walking behind, and picking up the pieces to try and preserve it, when your walking to the kitchen just to cook it up and serve it!

Now I gotta fight with both sides of myself because I decided to just cover up my eyes and not read between the lines!

So don’t question why I’m so bipolar, and just sit in my room holding a controller, being quiet and feeling alone and disposed of,

When both sides of me are constantly fighting, so I’d just rather stay into hiding.

I heard all of you loud and clear! And that’s why I feel so vacant. You definitely got your point across, but next time Watch where you aim it.

-B.M.O.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.