Poets logo

DONT DO IT

Life changer

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
DONT DO IT
Photo by Axel Donis on Unsplash

DONT DO IT

For anyone who is dealing with pear pressure, or has a friend with his hand out saying here have one, or puts a lighter in your hand, and tells you it’ll be fun…

DONT DO IT!

Even if you want to experiment

DONT DO IT!

And I know what your thinking “it’s just one time, what could it hurt?”

Everything. Is the answer to that question.

Before you know it you’ll be looking for that next prescription.

You know what follows? Yeah ADDICTION!

CONVICTION!

Listen to me when I tell you it’s evil, and I didn’t get this description.

I didn’t think it could happen to me either. You name it, I’ve done it!

I remember running outside on the porch for a breather after a sniff of ether.

Okay yeah, I’ll admit, I loved it, so I’m not trying to be the leader, or a preacher.

But atleast listen to this next line!

The next day all I was thinking is “this is beneath her…”

And by her I ment me.

All that fun made ME resent me.

So how could I sit here with bent knees asking god to prevent me?

When I know it was his voice in the beginning telling me not to.

Don’t be dumb it says “addictive” on the pill bottle!

But you wanted that thrill, so here take this and consider it the throttle.

Trust me, you can’t pretend! Everyone sees you walking in with a wobble!

And they’ll get in your head too, try to fix you, remodel.

You wanna douse me in holy water? PLEASE DO!! Here’s the nozzle!

But trust me when I tell you that’s where your mind goes.

Something to pop, or smoke to let the edge go.

When it used to be outdoors and paintings like Van Gogh!

If I could take it all back today, I’d tie it to a rocket and send it as far as it can go!

All while I sit and listen to a symphony, and play my piano.

So go ahead. See where it takes you.

See how far you can get until it breaks you.

And all those friends you have are fake too!

Don’t believe me?

A year goes by and your down and out and where are your friends? Yeah mine too.

But this is just my story because I chose to buy it.

I’m trynna help you, so as far as my story goes I won’t deny it.

Now let’s rewind the the beginning,

Here! Wanna try it?

-B.M.O.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.