Poets logo

For the Women Who've Survived

A Poem About Abuse.

By Cameron DominguezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

I am not a victim, she tells her mother, who's concerned about her well being and the state of her health.

I am not a victim, she tells her friends, who never see her anymore because he doesn't want her hanging around them.

I am not a victim, she tells her sister, who cries on the phone as she tells her she misses her.

I am not a victim, she tells the neighbor, who's growing concern begins to intimidate her.

I am not a victim! She begins to yell. Because they don't understand and they can all go to hell

Cause he's a good man, just no one else sees it, and when he tells her he loves her like no one else could she really believes it.

But boiling water doesn't equal a bath, and bruises shouldn't lead to excuses, emotional or otherwise, all trauma is traumatic.

But I am not a victim, she reasons.

I am not a victim.

I am not a victim.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cameron Dominguez

My writing tends to focus on relationships and our individual struggles.Let me know what you think on my socials. Tips are appreciated.

facebook.com/storiesbycam

instagram.com/iamdannydelight/

twitter.com/itscamdominguez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.