Poets logo

Decay

A Poem About Sin

By Cameron DominguezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

Pen on paper

Hand in heart

I pull you in

To tear you apart

I taste the tears, on my tongue as I write

I smell the fear, the same as that night

I hear the crackle and snap of flames as they roar

The fire is calming, minus the gore

It is strange to see, like a beach in the winter

You lying bare, burnt like the sinners

They say fire is cleansing, they would be wrong

Fire is violent, and it lasts for too long

The iron boils out of your blood

And you sink into the embers as if they were mud

I watch over you, as you struggle to get free

I watch over you, as pain turns you into me

Touched by malice, overcome with rage

Now you are trapped, this flame is your cage

Where once you are innocent, now you are tainted

Where once you held love, now you hold hatred

This burning house and the bed where you lay

The cycle of sin, from inception, to decay

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cameron Dominguez

My writing tends to focus on relationships and our individual struggles.Let me know what you think on my socials. Tips are appreciated.

facebook.com/storiesbycam

instagram.com/iamdannydelight/

twitter.com/itscamdominguez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.