Poets logo

Follow Your Feet

homebound comfort

By Negomi Oak RhettsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
12

Mine have guided me,

back and forth,

here and there,

not quite everywhere.

To a hundred new places,

to discover favourite spaces,

losing count of paces.

They’ve drifted down paths not made for me,

and then back again to safety,

all the while never leaving,

only leading,

and me, simply pleading:

'Never stop this wandering I’m needing!'

Along pavement, gravel, stone and earth,

through forest, woodland, bush and dirt,

over mountains, into lakes, and running boldly to the seas,

under open skies and gently waving trees,

I’ve walked and walked and walked and walked.

Going anywhere,

to get somewhere,

finding nowhere,

I the humble voyager,

must trust in them to carry me,

with purpose, joy, and curiosity,

no two journeys are the same for me.

They'll take my mind and body,

to the one place that means everything,

to the one place they’ll be free.

So I’ll continue to roam,

into the unknown,

but take comfort in knowing,

the path they're on is taking me home.

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Negomi Oak Rhetts

Herbalist & holistic health coach

Ex biodynamic farmer

Amateur poet and short story enthusiast

Self-published author of two free-verse poetry books: Weaving Roots and Wild Sanctuary

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Addy Gillabout a month ago

    Nicely Done. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Fantastic just as words, but I love the picture punctuations too.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Forgot to say congrats on TS!!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    YESSSS, wandering, always wandering. I loved your poem!

  • LASZLO SLEZAKabout a month ago

    Congratulations the post

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Wow! Really excellent! Enjoyed reading the poem and appreciated the pictures too!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    it's FANTASTIC! that's how I feel when I begin a new story. I never quite know where I'm going until I get there.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    The photos go so well with this beautiful poem. Congratulations

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I loved this so much and all of those pictures of feet made me want to explore. I loved it! I too am the humble voyager.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.