Poets logo

Providential Waters

A True Story

By Earl W. PearlPublished 13 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
2

At Guadalcanal we were sunken at sea

And this is the tale of what happened to me

These rubberized belts from my very own town

They kept us afloat or we surly would drown

Our whole situation was growing more dire

The sea agitated by enemy fire

My mom went to work at the Firestone store

Inspecting those belts saving hundreds or more

There were dozens of women performing this task

Not one was recruited and no one was asked

They knew that these belts would help sailors survive

My belt was for certain what kept me alive

I’m one of the lucky ones pulled from the “drink”

A personal Angel, yeah, that’s what I think

About a year later at home with my mom

I showed her the belt hanging there in my palm

We’re staring in shock at what providence delt

My mom’s QC number was stamped on the belt

Of all the inspector’s there, her’s was the one

Some eight thousand miles away saving her son

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) for about 7 years and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    Providence's protection and a mother's prayers...couldn't ask for better!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.