Poets logo

flowers of the night

Poem about saying goodbye.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 25 days ago 1 min read
Like
Photography by Nagoh Creative

a million times a day I start to cry

my heart is squeezed from every side

a million times a day I ask you why

and still, I fool myself with no reply

I kiss the head that bares your name

I kiss the stone, I feel the pain

I lay my hands upon my heart

I cry again right from the start

I’m saying goodbye but not for good

I just need to feel the way I should

take this kiss and try to save

all these flowers by your grave.

The loss of someone close is difficult. Letting go is even harder. My closest experience with the loss of a loved one would be my grandmother. We were close and I spent her final days next to her in her hospital bed reading, singing, and telling her stories of all our memories past. She held on for a week in that state. No talking, just the occasional tears from her eyes. I know she heard me. I know she didn't want to let go just yet, but moments after I left that room that final night in this world, she slipped away, it was time, and we had said our byes, and she was at peace.

I miss her every day.

The image above was taken during a fool moon. The tree leaves and branches in the shot were almost a quarter mile away from where I was standing. The telescope and the composition of the moon with it just created such an incredible & peaceful image in my opinion. I love silhouette shots. You will see many of them as I share more of my work.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.