Poets logo

First Love

(Recreated)

By Poppy Published 9 months ago 1 min read
20
Engin Akyurt on Unsplash

My first love was

A captivated gaze

Ravelling around me

Caressing my skin with

Featherlight fingers at

A time when only

Spiderwebbed corners

Offered me conversation

My first love was

His laughter bottled up

In the space behind my ribs

Everyone and everything else

Evaporating into a smoky

Backdrop to frame his face

My first love was

Miniscule moments

Painted lavishly

(If not delusionally)

In my mind

A splatter of light

Transformed into

A constellation of stars

A curl of his lips

Turned into the

Ocean's greatest wave

My first love was

Just my first heartbreak

Dressed in brighter clothing

Nights absent of sleep

Eyes without assurances

Smiles missing happiness

And something like self-doubt

Bubbling up beneath my skin

Twisting and writhing in my

Stomach

My first heartbreak was

An introduction to apocalypses

A navigation of torment and

A discovery of mosaics

It was ink stained hands

Pressing pen against paper

Watching in confusion as

The words turned to ointment

Soothing the wounds nobody else

Felt the need to

It was letters coming together

To create a poet where once

Had sat a lonely lover

My first love was

The boy whose stare

Connected with my own

And my first heartbreak was

The same person who looked away

Just a short moment after

You were the soft spots

On my heart that soon

Turned callous

The storm that left

Almost as soon as it arrived

You were the

Almost irreparable belief

That I was not enough

(And never would be)

Now you are

The piece of my past

That I can look at without

Reaching out and wondering

How it would fit into my present

(It wouldn't)

My first love and heartbreak

Was my oldest muse

The first one to turn

My words to magic

❀❀❀❀❀

The Original:

heartbreaklove poems
20

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • Kelsey Syble8 months ago

    This is a gorgeous piece. I especially enjoyed these parts: "You were the Almost irreparable belief That I was not enough (And never would be)" & "My first love and heartbreak Was my oldest muse The first one to turn My words to magic" This poem is so poignant and relatable; it quite literally takes my breath away.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh that first love, I feel like we have many first loves. Very well written!

  • My first love was The boy whose stare Connected with my own And my first heartbreak was The same person who looked away Just a short moment after This stanza! Omggggg! I just cannotttttt. It was just so relatable! You captured my heart again with this poem!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    This is magnificent and poignant at the same time! Gorgeously written, too! I felt every word you wrote, as I have experienced something very similar. That kind of love teaches us a lot, doesn't it?

  • Those early infatuations that prepare our hearts less for romantic fantasies & more to be open for the fullness of true love. Ah, but they are painful & heartbreaking.

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    this is so beautiful and something many of us have lived. Emotions put to words.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is beyond good! It touched me deeply and I just love the ending.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    The difference between these is quite significant! I see more metaphors, more depth behind the words in this version. Your original felt raw, though, honest in a different way than this one. I love this rewrite. Also, you are fantastic at rewriting; I admire how you keep the original’s structure and subject, while adding in their influences over your writing, the first muse. My favorite part: “A discovery of mosaics ❀ It was ink stained hands Pressing pen against paper Watching in confusion as The words turned to ointment…” 👏👏👏

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I love the imagery here - the way the world forms a frame for the lover, the wave, so powerful, when its just a smile to anyone else, the callouses - useful, toughening, never again soft and smooth.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem! Beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.