Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Fireproof

a poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 9 months ago 1 min read
Fireproof
Photo by Rafael Garcin on Unsplash

Took the fall and risked it all

Off the cliff without a roof

Into seven rings of hell

Friends who whispered, stayed aloof

Darkest days and darker nights

Under a weak and leaky roof

My dream was just to be myself.

My very name felt like a spoof

*

I remember your eyes.

The way you schemed but played aloof

You told me just what I was worth

And I told you, “I’m bulletproof”

All my worst and darkest fears

Brought into light, with concrete proof

But still, I didn’t run away.

I stood there, dauntless, daring you

*

Now, in the brutal light of day

The darkness feels like just like a dream

I see that all the fire I faced

Was fear that always lived in me

The shame you kindled with your flames

Was oxygen that set me free

And all the slights and blights

Were only triggers; acts of memory

*

I faced my demons, one by one.

I pulled each one out by the root

I walked through coals to heal my soul

Of all that stymied my pursuit

I asked Life to show me my truth

Lost and afraid, I needed proof–

Just like a phoenix from the dust

I've shown myself

I'm fireproof

performance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Daphsam8 months ago

    Wow this is awesome! 👏👏👏

  • May you always have the courage of your convictions & confidence in yourself which you display in this poem.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Gorgeous powerful poem!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Ah to see how far one can come and realize our own strength is a beautiful thing! Well done!

  • This was so freaking powerful! I wanna make it into a necklaces and wear it!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    I can relate to this on such a deep level, Joelle– reminiscent of an experience from my past. Every line was just perfect, but that last grouping… 🔥 💫✨

  • Great poem. So glad this didn't turn out to be a review of the old movie. Great idea, lousy acting, directing, writing, & no production values I could see.

  • This feels written from my own heart! 🥹👌❤️🕊️✨

Joelle E🌙Written by Joelle E🌙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.