Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

When It’s Wrong

A Haiku Series

By Joelle E🌙Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
10
When It’s Wrong
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

The filthiest part

Is the way your eyes graze me

Like you want my soul

*

The dirtiest part

Is how every seduction

Is just your control

*

The naughtiest part

Is that deep down, I know you

Don’t care about me

*

The most wretched part

Is the fact that I want this

Despite what I see

*

The filthiest part

Is it’s my very fire

You want to destroy

*

The most messed-up part

Is this longing is kindling

For your next sick ploy

*

The dangerous part

Is that even though I will

Not let you succeed

*

You’ll still give me scars

And one day down the line, those

Loose stitches will bleed

****

**

This started as an entry for Jazzy’s filthy haiku challenge, and turned into something very different. I guess I needed some writing therapy today. (This is a memory, not a present experience).

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetry
10

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so relatable. I have been and still am in this situation. I know they don't care about me so I know I won't let them succeed despite me wanting it. But they still give me scars that will bleed. I'm so glad this is a memory of yours, not current experience!

  • I'm glad this is a memory & not your current situation. You expressed this so evocatively. I found it quite whelming. (In the American sense of "very".)

  • Ohh 👌🕊️✨🤍 the way you weave together the toxicity and lust… this is another brilliant poem Joelle! I agree with Kelli! The poetry gods are so aligned with you right now ❤️

  • Boy. You are on a roll. Great work

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Brutal truth so eloquently shared. Know your worth, you’re priceless. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.