Poets logo

Women’s Secrets

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
17
Women’s Secrets
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

I know if it had happened to her

She wouldn’t tell me–

*

My mother, like a vault of secrets

Holding her self close

So as to not have it torn away.

*

She walks in the independence

And the fear

Of someone who has never had someone to lean on,

Learning to weigh little

A leaf on the wind

So that what she carries will not weigh her down.

*

Instead, she floats

Untethered

No ship to provide her safe harbor

But free–

Owner of her own cargo, anchored to no one

*

Except me

social commentary
17

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)8 months ago

    I love this, so eloquent and expressive 😁

  • Test8 months ago

    Well Written My Dear

  • Anchored to no one, except me. I loved that line a lot! Such a beautiful poem!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Wonderfully written!

  • That quiet strength, silently & calmly facing whatever trials & tribulations address, & whatever "it" is (that you left it undefined doesn't keep my mind from going to extremely dark places; it perhaps leaves it feeling a little more sickly & uncomfortable in my stomach & being than naming it would have), tethered only to that which matters most. Hauntingly, painfully beautiful.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    This is simultaneously a beautiful glimpse of a strong woman and also a sad realization that she'll probably never know the relief that can come with sharing the weight of her secrets and pain... really lovely work, Joelle!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Lots of emotion in this. A wonderful piece, Joelle!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    “Untethered but free” so much weight in these words. Beautiful and heartbreaking piece– it gave me all of the emotions. 💫

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is some deep stuff and quite sad, I think, in some ways. Well done, Joelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.