Poets logo

Root Cause

free verse poem

By Joelle E๐ŸŒ™Published 8 months ago โ€ข Updated 8 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
7
Root Cause
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Root chakra wakes up

Just as Covid-19 attacks my body, breaking me down

*

Is this why I have felt so fragile all my life?

*

Like a leaf on the wind

Separated from the tree that holds its roots,

Floating

Ever so slowly

Toward the ground.

*

The ground is where I want to be.

*

Where my fingers can dig into the rich, fertile soil

Finding home

Where I have never found it before:

*

In the place where I was once a seed

surreal poetrynature poetry
7

About the Creator

Joelle E๐ŸŒ™

There is gold in every piece of your story โœจ

๐Ÿ“ Find me on Medium

โญ๏ธ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Whoaaa this was so deep and has so many layers to it!

  • The imagery here is mesmerizing, Joelle, finding us released from the end of that which has sustained us, drifting down to settle at last in the place where we began. What a metaphor for life, for living & dying, with thoughts of rebirth yet content simple to settle in & rest.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! And I love the banyan tree photo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.