Poets logo

Finding the Light

Where to look?

By Linda BromleyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Finding the Light
Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

In my world I see darkness

Everywhere I look

The results of drinking or drugs

Family violence and abuse

Robberies and shootings

Happen more and more

As the darkness invades

Every corner I turn

It suffocates me and

I tear at my throat just to breathe

I swing my head side to side

Oh where can I find relief?

I see the tiniest sliver

Of yellow in the blackness

What is it I ask myself

Slowly creeping fowards

As I get closer that light grows

And I find it isn’t a thing

It’s coming from a man so tall

I can’t see Him He is so bright

But that brightness

Releases my breath and I find

I can once again gulp

The fresh clean air

Air void of troubles

And a breath so sweet

I look to His Face

And start to feel calm

It’s overtaking me

As I feel that light

Warming me from my heart

Outward to others

This light I’ve found touches all who see

And slowly the darkness creeps

As far as it can from the yellow

As if allergic to its warmth

What can I say but thankyou Jesus

For giving me relief and peace

A refuge of safety from the evils

You are my beautiful found light.

inspirational

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Linda BromleyWritten by Linda Bromley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.