Poets logo

The Open Door

Into the Throne Room

By Linda BromleyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
The Open Door
Photo by Gustavo Zambelli on Unsplash

I see the doors are flung wide open

I wonder what’s on that other side

Slowly I creep forward and peek through

The light that greets me is brilliant bright

But only in one area

The rest is covered in golden hour sun

Oranges and yellows meld with each other

Creating the most beautiful sunset of colours

I can’t help but move through the doorway

And am suddenly engulfed in

The strongest sense of awe and majesty

I can barely breathe for its greatness

I look around and see majestic beings

Wings folded or raised of at their sides

And gowns shimmering rainbows

As their mouths sing Hallelujahs

I also see people just like me

Prostrate or kneeling

Heads bowed in humility

From the wonder of that purest light

Who are these people?

Why they are the saints of heaven

Sitting under its alter

Content just to be in His presence

Dare I approach that brightness

I now know to be the throne?

I takes timid steps forward

And find outstretched arms

Those arms are for me

With the most joyful smile

That accompanies them

And I can’t help but rush forward

Into the arms of my Father the King

Where I feel so safe in His embrace

Nothing can find me in His brilliance

For I am now home at peace

Where I belong

inspirational

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Linda BromleyWritten by Linda Bromley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.