Poets logo

The Closed Door

I don’t wanna go back

By Linda BromleyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
The Closed Door
Photo by Sheldon Kennedy on Unsplash

What can you find behind closed doors?

Secrets and lies and deception

Or a life of rebellion

Perhaps a relationship full of distrust

Or maybe even the old you

Behind my closed door

Is a life without Jesus

But it’s so long ago

I barely remember

For knowing Jesus and God

Opened a new world to me

Of love and acceptance

Belonging and grace

Freedom and forgiveness

Life forever with them

And the saints above

And those who left before me

I can’t go back to that closed door

It was sealed behind me forever

And I’m so glad and rejoicing

For who would choose to return

After meeting my Holy Father

My Lord and Saviour who died for me

Nothing is worth anything

Without Him as Lord of my life

inspirational

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Linda BromleyWritten by Linda Bromley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.