Poets logo

You’re No Better Than Me

Going Nowhere!

By Lily SéjorPublished 3 days ago Updated 3 days ago 1 min read

Not again! Not again! You will not torment me.

Once again, baby girl, you misunderstand me.

Let me be. Let me breathe. Go torment another!

Believe me, if I could, I’d sure as hell rather.

There’s no room in my home for hatred and the like.

If my presence troubles, feel free to take a hike.

For ten years you have crushed every one of my dreams.

Not ten years, twenty-five; but you forget, it seems…

Leave! Because all you do is bring me down so low.

…but you forget, it seems, I have nowhere to go.

You’re no better than me. I won’t take your abuse.

You may define that word in terms a tad too loose.

Every time I see you, it hurts me to my core.

I really wish you could love yourself a bit more.

Not with you judging me with such merciless eyes.

I do not mean to judge but I will tell no lies.

Please stop harassing me. Don’t get any closer.

Honey, please don’t forget… I’m only a mirror.

Mental Healthfact or fiction

About the Creator

Lily Séjor

Lily is really not the best at describing herself, so she'll put this down for now and circle back when (if) she's inspired. For now, she wants you to know that she's your verbose friend who rarely knows what to say.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout 8 hours ago

    As we all do! Oh a well said poetry.

  • Luksi Bayoua day ago

    Painfully true. Sometimes we are our own toughest critics.

  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    Brutal and brilliant! I knew that last line was coming but it still was so impactful

  • The poignant revelation that the other person is merely a mirror adds a profound layer of self-realization. The dialogue evokes empathy and invites contemplation about the complexities of relationships and self-perception, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Lily SéjorWritten by Lily Séjor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.