Poets logo

Fear At The Door

Like a magnet

By michelle stuartPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fear At The Door
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

Fear is gripping; like a magnet, it attracts me and holds tightly

Squeezing my lungs and causing dis-ease

It can enter my pores, my veins, my mind, my soul

If I invite it in like a lover who knows me intimately and strangely

Today though, I welcome it smiling

I know you; we are familiar foes

Let's sit and talk and digest what is lurking

When you are done, I will open the cage and set you free

I am free already and will continue at my will and with my desire

Visitors are welcome anytime here

My spirit is always open

Maybe a bit too fragile

It is beautiful when it cracks and bends and becomes something

Unpleasing to the blind eye

I think it is lovely

Come visit me anytime, old friend

I'll see you out after we are through

I know you have much to say

But today, your silence is appreciated.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

michelle stuart

Just a girl with a head full of dreams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.