Poets logo

Fear and Fearless

Depending How Powerful Myself Talk Can Be

By Mariann CarrollPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
16
Fear and Fearless
Photo by Tim Trad on Unsplash

Can I do this, I am afraid!!!

It’s is going to hurt me!

What if a bad thing happen in the process?

I am so scared!!!!

Don’t do it!!!!

Do it!!!

I have the courage to do this!!!

What if this solve my health issue?

It will heal me!

I can do it, I have to!!!!

This week I have two MRI , I am scared but I know I need to do this for my health. My mind is at war with itself. I am fighting for courage and to think positive. I overthink things and my fear sometimes win over. Positive self talk is a must.

inspirationalperformance poetryheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like how this changes as you read it in reverse, and the rapid lines show thoughts that are quick and changing. I hope it went well for you in the end😊

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    🥰Mariann...Sending love. ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Health stuff is scary and I know that even scary we take one step in front of the next and get it done! I think it is way worse to not know! And I always tell myself two things: 1) What is the worse thing that can happen? So, if you know what it is you can do something about it but not until then! 2) All this worry is bad for my health and it is probably nothing or something minor! So all this worry for nothing!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, Mariann - I'm so sorry. I'm thinking of you and rooting for you. You've got this. 💗💕 Also, you did a marvelous job with your poem - you perfectly reflect the mental process of talking yourself in, then out of something. I'm so sorry you're going through this. 💗

  • I'll keep you in my prayers! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • You can do this, Mariann. Just close your eyes & take deep breaths (until they tell you to hold it, that is).

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Very nicely done.

  • I hope the MRI give you the answers you are hoping for. My best wishes are with you. Loved the pic for this powerful poem

  • Deasun T. Smyth4 months ago

    Have courage! You can do this. 👍😉 I has something similar happen to me, where I have intense stomach pains, I went to the clinic, got x-rays, and they couldn't find anything 😕. I'll be praying for you.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Maybe gospel music and headphones will help ease your mind. It will be over before you know it. I agree... you CAN do it!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    I am wishing you a great health report. I completely understand what it's like to be afraid of test results. The doctors can cause serious anxiety and overthinking, but it's best to know than to not know. Loved your poem!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    You can do it ! Fears are normal.. it is just something you are working through. ☺️

  • Great poem... "Do it!!! I have the courage to do this!!!" So true... it's worth the stress etc. I've had a few MRI's... here in Australia, it was fine... I used my imagination to go far away, typically to the beach or waterfalls & lakes! As they say..."You go girl... you've got this!" All the best & take care.

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    Sending you love Mariann.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    What bad thing might happen? 🤔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.