Poets logo

Family Gatherings

leave me so drained

By Just DanielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Family Gatherings
Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

I try to put on my brightest smile,

I steady myself, bracing myself for the onslaught of questions.

.

"How are your classes right now?"

"Have you found the right person for you yet?"

"When are we going to meet this girlfriend of yours?"

"How's the fitness center, how are the facilities?"

"Now that you're not working right now, what are your goals, what are your next steps?"

.

Endlessly, unceasingly, the questions crash upon me,

one wave after another.

I skedaddle to my cousins,

My Refuge,

My Safe Place.

I spend some time massaging the back and shoulders of my grandparents.

.

Then after all of dinner's gone, the cake cut, dessert sitting and slowly digesting in our stomachs, food coma imminent,

The dishes rinsed and put into the dishwasher,

we say our goodbyes.

Until next time when we go through the process. All. Over. Again.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.