Poets logo

My Life's Battles

Untold Secrets

By Dan R FowlerPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
2

My Life’s Battles

Like the changing of the seasons,

Time moves forward ever so sublime.

Constantly reminding us we’re travelers,

Time voyagers and courageous ambassadors.

It wasn’t our decision to walk in this path,

One so fanciful, one that we knew wouldn’t last.

Yet, with eyes wide open we venture forth,

Making our way through the veil staying the course.

Sometimes it’s a mountain set before us tall,

Challenging us to take caution careful not to fall.

Sometimes it’s a valley of dry bones scattered round,

A place where if not careful, we too lay to the ground.

Sometimes it’s an ocean of treacherous waves high,

Testing our will, our faith, as prayers reach the sky.

Sometimes it’s the unseen opponent, one in the mists,

Attacking us from each side, attempting its own twist.

But as I sit watching from the shores of contemplation,

I’ll never confess my worry or my abundant hesitation.

For to admit that my life has been smooth sailing,

Would be misleading, a camouflage of a friend’s scathing.

Yet, as the seasons move ever forward unfolding in sight,

I must move ahead through each battle, I must continue to fight.

For it’s not the slandering or gaping wounds that will remain,

But the small unseen, unheard-of victories that I’ll proclaim.

vintage
2

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    This was extremely powerful. Loved your poem!

  • Tina D'Angelo9 days ago

    But the small unseen, unheard-of victories that I’ll proclaim. That is it. The small victories in life. You nail it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.