Poets logo

How not regretting anything

Is My Biggest Regret

By Just DanielPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
How not regretting anything
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Awhile ago, I told myself that I would grow from my past adolescent self

into someone who doesn't go back and forth between decisions,

always a fence sitter,

and so indecisive,

that anyone who wanted to ask me of my opinion would simply

be just wasting their time.

-

I had no preference of anything as long as it meant making

and keeping the people around me happy.

I had no regards for my own safety,

I was oblivious to it.

I thought what constituted as a happy life

was to make the people around me proud,

to make them happy,

to do what I was being told

and pour every ounce of my being into that concept.

-

However, I learned the hard way that perspective is not true.

By Christian Papaux on Unsplash

I always valued freedom,

I loved it more than anything else in the whole entire world...

although my view of the world at that time was narrow;

it was still full of hope and rainbows.

-

I've always been very reflective of myself, of the world around me,

much more of a passive and sentient being than an active one,

wondering what is my purpose in life, why do I exist,

will anything I do make a difference;

questions like those are ones I constantly ask myself.

-

I've lived with my life on pause many, many-a-times,

dropping all that is happening to me currently,

even when things are progressing and moving in the right direction

for once,

I throw it aside with reckless abandon.

If it is for family, I will do everything and anything for them,

because they are the one and only thing that is anchoring me

to This World.

-

But now...

Now that all my grandparents have left me,

Now that I've abandoned and been abandoned by all my friends,

I am alone. I am truly alone.

As alone as I was when I first came into the world

and nothing comforts me as much as that.

I regret nothing. I don't regret the choices that I've made,

I don't regret where I am now.

-

I don't do things against my conscience and I never will-

-THAT is the promise that I make to myself.

However, even with all that, all that hullabaloo,

I guess my only regret is taking into account how others see me,

how others perceive me, and what others say under their breath,

thinking I can't hear, thinking I don't listen, thinking...

that I don't remember.

-

It makes me sad when the major decisions that I made

will never be understood by others and were even

misunderstood by my family members for a time.

I quit my job last year because of my family's medical problems

and also because I felt like I wasn't progressing fast enough

in my career.

-

It came as a surprise to everyone, everyone besides myself.

I had been planning it for quite a while and had left hints,

a breadcrumb trail behind, sprinkling words here and there

to indicate my dissatisfaction of where I was at currently.

No more steady income for me and back to my parent's place

I go. The old neighbors that I grew up with, seeing me

from the window and the premises of the property

day in and day out.

-

The scorn but also good-intended questions pecking at my head

are one and the same.

The puzzlement and worry on their faces

as I become "one of the unemployed" again.

Days turn into weeks, weeks turn into months.

I am now knighted as a lesser being, the trash

that society needs to pick up on the side of the street.

-

They don't know my struggle though, they might never will.

But here I am, still silently trudging along,

trying to constantly change my circumstance,

trying to change the circumstance of my loved ones

because that is all that matters to me.

I no longer have to make it according to other people's standards

but to the standards of my own.

-

I have to remember and tell myself that this perspective of me

from the eyes of others, is only temporary.

I just worry about how it may affect my family.

No matter.

I will continue on this path I made for myself,

to bring forth a brighter future.

By Matthew Henry on Unsplash

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.