Poets logo

Falling

Again and again

By Sara BeckPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The first cool morning after the summer heat just starts to fade.

Before the sun rises, maybe an hour before, I have the world to myself.

I step outside and feel the cold bricks on my bare feet.

The sharp chill wakes my skin and goosebumps travel up my arms, telling me to put on a sweater.

Mustard yellow cotton, the one with the holes; my favorite.

The sweater I wore the first night we met, when it was new.

Before it was snagged by a loose screw at the bar that one time.

Before we got our puppy and she bit at the sleeves.

The one that brings him back in time and makes him smile when he remembers.

I smile as I put it on. The coffee pot gurgles as it finishes its brew, its’ rich fragrance fills the room.

He starts to open his eyes, and once they adjust….there it is.

He remembers.

I click on my record player and put on Sarah Vaughans’ September Song.

Cradling my warm mug with both hands as I sit at my desk.

He falls back asleep to the soft music.

I fall more in love, holes and all.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.