Poets logo

Blue Balloon

In The Hospital Room

By Sara BeckPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Powder blue socks with a matching cap

Adorn my new baby’s feet and head.

Carnations spray painted blue,

With a Mylar balloon; it’s a boy, it said.

When we get home, it’s just us two,

Surrounded by more shades of blue.

The clothes and blankets and all new toys,

Tell me again, my baby’s a boy.

They tell me my boy needs to be tough,

We buy green army men and red fire trucks.

They tell me that’s not tough enough,

We go to soccer practice, we shoot toy guns.

Over the years we still see blues,

With other masculine colors and hues.

My baby did what they were told and played

The part.

Of the boy

The balloon

Said they are.

But my baby knew better than anyone,

The balloon got it wrong, she was done.

Done with costumes of blues and blacks,

Done with hiding behind heavy masks.

She put on a violet dress

And pink high heeled shoes,

She bought an eyeshadow palette...

Of different blues.

Her new white purse hung over her arm,

But her smile was the brightest thing she wore.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.