Poets logo

Fair the Winds

A Calling

By Meredith HarmonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Four seasons in my garden.

Summer wind, blow breezes fair, twine shining zephyrs in my hair.

Wreathe round rip'ning swelling fruit, dripping with delicious juice.

Tickle children in the sun, cuddle them when play is done.

Gently lift the owls in flight, dance in ghostly firefly light.

Autumn wind, with bluster main, roll leaves in my face again.

Rustle treetops, ruffle hair, throw seeded wings from here to there.

Let harvesters reap golden grain, refresh the soil with silver rain.

Greet the moon with brave delight, orange pumpkins' friend at night.

Winter wind cut clean, cut cold, right down to where bone meets soul.

Lack of color 'gainst my back, shades of blue and white and black.

Swirls of snowflakes touch my skin, I kiss the cold - but warm within.

I breathe you in with frosted breath, I scent your smoke with fire's death.

Springtime wind, come warm the land, give music to my flute in hand.

Listen to the melting snows, trickle where the clear stream flows.

Welcome geese in veeing skeins, twirl round copper weathervanes.

Sakura pink and lilac pale, peeping frogs, snake's shining scale.

Fair the winds that freely roam, rove with me, where'er I go.

inspirational

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    So fresh and entwining in all its sensations. Lovely.

  • Hmmm. No punchlines. This one's not as funny as what I've read from you before. But it is beautiful & I resonate with every syllable. Meredith, I would never want to live where all the seasons seemed pretty much the same, not even if I got to go swimming every day in 75-80 degree weather.

Meredith HarmonWritten by Meredith Harmon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.