Poets logo

Grandma?

Dialogue Poem: My life with you will never be long enough

By Rilee AreyPublished 4 days ago 2 min read

Grandma, can I go to church and sit in the big room with you?

Of course, I would love for you to be there!

Grandma, do I get Skittles if I let you cut my hair?

Always, but you need to sit still!

Grandma, can you be a part of my Halloween-themed birthday party?

I wouldn't miss it, I have my witch nose, costume, and glass ball on standby!

Grandma, I came here after school to play cards with you!

I know! Will you grab the cards in the drawers, the cookies are just coming out of the oven!

Grandma, I'm stuck at school with nothing to eat!

I will bring your favorite, a sandwich, and a rootbeer,

Grandma, will you accept this rose? *Me standing in front of my entire high school hands shaking, honoring a person who is our role model*

I would be honored!

Grandma, will you go on my college tour with me in Arizona?

I would love to see where you will be living!

Grandma, how do I stop loving him?

Time will tell you, my love!

Grandma, Can you add this painting of your old house to my list of what I will get when you are gone?

Yes, nobody has claimed that yet, I will write your name on the back of it.

Grandma, I brought you your favorite donuts while I was out today!

Awe Thank you so much, you always think about me!

Grandma, I wish I didn't live so far away from you!

I know, but we will visit each other!

Grandma, Can I read you my new poem?

Dear, you are so talented, I will always listen!

Grandma, I know I have been telling you that you're old for years now,

Yes, you have!

But you are one of the most strong, graceful, beautiful, and caring people I have ever known!

I am glad you think so!

Grandma, Thank you for always listening to me!

I always will, you are so special!

Grandma, What am I going to do without you? ~Thoughts to myself~

.....

Grandma, I love you so much!

I love you too dear.

Grandma?

Yes?

I miss you!

I miss you too dear.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Tammy Castleman3 days ago

    This is beautiful! Who would we be today without the love and support of our grandparents? Keep writing! ;-)

Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.