Poets logo

Failure: The Great Mind Killer

For Real Poetic's "Greatest Fear" Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
18
Failure: The Great Mind Killer
Photo by Ian Kim on Unsplash

When I close my eye, the worries start to stir

There is one thing that grabs me

More than anything

More than choking, drowning, or suffocation

More than death, than a sinister clown

More than wide-open or closed-in spaces

It's failure that is my enemy

Failure so often stops me in my tracks

The fear of messing up...again

Frozen in time

Frozen by fear

Stuck in reverse

Stuck in yesterday

Want to move forward

Not to move backward

Fear of failure

fear of mistakes

fear of messing up

fear of so much worse

Stops me in my tracks

Stops me from progressing

Stops me from achieving

Stops me from trying

Fear of not good enough

Makes me feel worse

Fear of the damage

Cripples me, stifles me

Fear is the killer of mine

The killer of my mind, body, and soul

My bespoke devastator

My attack aggravator

Confidence annihilator

Fear of failure is my K2

Fear of failure is my hot coal walk

Fear of failure is my ocean swim

Fear of failure is my tightrope act

The great mind killer

The ambition abolisher

The hopes and dreams destroyer

If I let it win...

*

Thanks for reading!

This was for Real Poetic's 3rd Mini Challenge, "Greatest Fear". We had to write about our greatest fear.

You can find out more about the challenge here:

If you want to read more by me, check out my profile for a heady mix of something for everyone here.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
18

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Heyyyyy Paullllllll! I'm backkkkkkk! Anyway, this poem made me wonder what Hogwarts house you are in? Your poem gave strong vibes of Hermione but I'm guessing you're in Ravenclaw. But then again, I might be soooo wrong, lol! Also, I'll be reading your poems first before moving on to your longer pieces. I have a week's worth of stuff to read. So advance apologies if I miss any of yours 😅

  • It's paralyzing, reducing me at times to catatonia.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Too many great lines!!! As FDR said, "The only thing to fear is fear itself." Fantastic poem!!! Loving it!!!

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    All too relatable. I find it strange that I'm not afraid of dying really... Other than knowing I'd be leaving my kids behind to a world that really doesn't appreciate them or love them the way I do... But the very idea of just nothing or heaven or hell... I'm not too afraid of that. But failure? Oh boy. I nearly have a panic attack every time I'm doing something because I always feel not good enough in everything. I don't like to share most things I do because I don't feel adequate. Isn't that strange? I'm happy I'm not alone in that lol... But also sorry for others that feel this. For what it's worth, I really do love your content. You're definitely not failing in the writing department in my opinion. 🤗

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Damn, Paul… I cannot even pick out favorite lines from this. So good! It made me think of Eminem’s “Lose Yourself” which is a song I listen to when I need courage. I love that you ended it on a hopeful note. 🎶

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Bravo! Very well written. "Frozen in time Frozen by fear Stuck in reverse Stuck in yesterday"

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    My favorite section: "Fear is the killer of mine The killer of my mind, body, and soul My bespoke devastator My attack aggravator Confidence annihilator" Paul, this is SO GOOD. Like one of your raps, but more focused, more verse-inclined than rhyme. But the way you encapsulate this fear in such pointed diction and images is very well done indeed. Love how you ended it too! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Ah yes the greatest fear of not being enough, however as everyone has said you painted the picture wonderfully! This was a wonderful expression of fear and imposter syndrome🖤

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Lmar pointed out the irony in this and I have to agree. I also have to say that you chose my greatest fear, too.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Ironically, this poem was a success at painting the chosen fear. The deep descriptions of what the fear means to you were eye opening and relatable. And loved the last line, a sign of reprieve.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Thoughtful and relatable piece Paul.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great, and you're too good to be a failure. Well done, buddy.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Don’t let fear win! You are far from a failure. This poem resonates so deeply within me. Amazing words from you.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Yes, Fear paralyzes.

  • Powerful words ❤️🫶🏾💯📝😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.