Poets logo

Fading to BLACK

Breathing and letting go of resentment. To rise above it all is to win and to win is a metaphor for happiness.

By Novel AllenPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
AI in abstract of face

Me v my alter-ego or subconscious self

~Those little evil thoughts and resentments, they constantly eat away at my soul

I see the murderous intentions written in your eyes,

~I'm sorry, is that an echo, who dares intrude into the inner sanctum of my thoughts

It is I, your subconscious, the hard-working better half of you

~I have no need today, or ever...of the embracing of a 'better half"

You should be glad, without me you would be walking the green mile

~What is that supposed to mean, I do not understand

The green mile is the last walk of the damned and condemned

~Leave me be, I have no need for voices within my head

I see the green-eyed monster rearing its head in your heart

~There is a difference between the monster and the unfairness of life, always rewarding some and not others

Yet, you have no control over what others do, why do you care

~I know, but my human need for validation has been a nuisance of late

From the beginning of time, like poles have always chosen like poles

~But isn't it said that like poles repel, while unlike poles attract

This works for magnets, but people will mostly choose their own ilk, of course there are exceptions to that rule

~Are you saying that people are like batteries, they see the negative in that which does not reflect them, and the positive in their images

I guess, yet it takes both sides for the battery to work

~Don't try to minimize my utter resentment for always craving to be treated as justly as I imagine I should be

I am just advising that; why allow bias and people's shortsightedness to cause you undue stress and angst

~Who said that I have bottled up irritation and indignation at the blatant ways of those who choose to be biased

You sigh deeply and audibly...realizing that I had just arrived at the crux of the whole matter all on my own

~Why do you keep annoying me, begone voices, stop trying to make me feel guilty for my annoying human frailty

The voices slink away back into my subconscious where they reside just below the surface of my conscience

~I gather all my poles, like thoughts and unlike thoughts, tossing them out the window

I heard you sigh, as my subconscious voices stayed still for now. After all, there is truth in all that which was said.

~I now venture forth anew, blooming in shades of the me who I am determined to be

Independent and strong, riding the waves of adversity, surviving through the storm, I heard you say...Yes...exactly...

I smile as your voice fades to Black!!!!!!!

.................................................................

performance poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Ah, the struggle. This is great. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Beautiful performance poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Wow, your sub topic is very energetic one. A powerful one!

  • Sasi Kala13 days ago

    powerful words very nice!

  • Whoaaaa, that was so freaking powerful! I loved it so much!

  • A lot of power in these words and the image reflects that

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.