Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

MORE LIGHT MEANS LESS SHADOW.

When we love the darkness, we integrate it, And it no longer controls us.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
MORE LIGHT MEANS LESS SHADOW.
Photo by Maru Lombardo on Unsplash

I DON'T FIGHT MY MONSTERS I MAKE LOVE TO THEM INTO TOTAL SUBMISSION

Sometimes, I dance with my shadows

I let them take me by the hand and allow

them to lead me around the floor for a while

Some twists here

Some turns there

My skirt billowing in the all-familiar breeze

The darkness brushing against my cheek

(Oh, how I love you darkness)

And I could stay here a while

Lament about my pain

Dance to the sad songs while the tears

stained my cheeks

Oh, the bitterness of endings and

torturous things

Or I could be grateful as hell

The pain showing me the way-

the unseen things become seen

And all of a sudden I am smiling at the light

And I'm remembering who I came

here to be....

LIKE THE MOON THAT HAS TWO SIDES I'M SLIPPING OVER TO THE DARK FOR A LITTLE WHILE. MEET ME HERE....

Filthy

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 days ago

    Oooo, I loved the darkness here. Loved this so much!

  • angela hepworth9 days ago

    Amazing!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.