Poets logo

Existential contemplation

A dialogue poem for the birds

By Novel AllenPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
AI

There are times when I travel outside of my 'self', way up to the stars

While birds chirp merrily on my windowsill, welcoming the morn

Curiosity steals my mind, birthing longing and the need to explore

As day breaks gloriously, joyfully, to the sunlight delight of the happy winged birds

Yet I yearn for the wings to fly in the path of the unlucky Icarus

For when the birds take off in flight, they leave me wanting more

Is there magic in this world, if I chant a spell, will I sprout wings

Mayhap, the birds and I could fly together, soaring high to the sky

I am not content to fly in man made things, though their wings I truly embrace

Come birds, take my willing hands, from the ground we shall take flight

Beyond the stars I now fly free, who is that told me I could not fly.

The birds hurry away, as I gently open the window to say hello

Perhaps they fear the silly human really will try to fly

Farewell for today, my feathered friends, as I imagine that

Hopefully quite soon though, I will take to the sky!!!!!

AI creation

performance poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    I also would like to fly with the birds. Nicely done.

  • Your first line is very very talented line I ever found in a poem. I think it is gorgeous when we come out side of the soul. Well done!

  • Sasi Kala13 days ago

    I also fly when I read your poem! Lovely poem ❤

  • Omgggg, I also wanna fly with them. That would be soooo wonderful! Loved your poem!

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.