Poets logo

Eyes

A poem about pushing past trust issues, and loving anyway.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 9 days ago 1 min read
Photography by Author — Nagoh Creative

through your dark glassy glaze

I see your tears standing in my way

and even when they are closed

I still see deep down in your soul

it’s the gateway to your heart

so your eyes are where I start

and when my kiss is perfectly framed

you win my heart, yet I'm to blame

so in your eyes, there lays a smile

no need for lips when you’ve got mine

...

Another poem from my past notes. This one is from December 5th, 1998. I have always loved the stories of mythology that reference eyes. For example, “the eyes are the gateway to the soul”. There is something special about how God created us and our eyes. They speak without speaking.

The image I picked is one I took one evening when I was kayaking. The sun was setting and looked amazing through sunglasses. Sometimes we need to dim the distractions of shiny things in our lives to see things with a toned-down view.

I find myself getting wrapped up in the shiny things a lot, and then I have to pull myself back in and remind myself what is important.

Author Note: Thanks for reading. My writing & photography are part of my healing process.

sad poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    It is beautiful. Many times I create poetry from photos I have taken.

  • T. Licht8 days ago

    Wow, great work.

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.