Poets logo

Eyes Across The Room

A Poem for my Beloved

By Natasja RosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5

The first thing that I knew of you

Was your laugh across the station

Hearty, real, full of animation

I wanted to hear you speak, too.

I know what you say is true

We promised clear communication

And equal relationship participation

As others so seldom do

By Chewy on Unsplash

We promised our hearts, no pressure applied,

We promised our dreams, ambition and hope,

We promised our burdens, shared and thus lighter.

Through joy and tears, at each other's side,

Gentle and kind, a living romance trope,

Together with you, the future is brighter.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

The style of this poem, for anyone who cares or is vaguely interested, is an Italian Sonnet.

Sonnets have a number of variations, mostly by country (French, English, Italian, Spanish...) but generally consist of two sets of lines. The first is 8 lines, Italian Sonnets going a-b-b-a, a-b-b-a, followed by a set of six, in this case going c-d-e-c-d-e. The other popular variations for the Italian variation are c-d-c-d-c-d and c-d-c-d-e-e.

By Mayur Gala on Unsplash

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium!

love poems
5

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.