Poets logo

A Chore Worth Doing

She'll be so surprised.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 13 days ago 1 min read
11
A Chore Worth Doing
Photo by Daniel Chekalov on Unsplash

Begrudgingly, I tromped down the deck stairs. The clomping of my reluctant feet hit each one as I continued to descend. The sound echoed through the silent Saturday morning air. My resolve to do this began to erode until a cool, soothing wind caressed my cheeks. The serene stillness of this quiet morning wrapped me in an envelope of peacefulness. I sighed in relief. Ready to start my least favourite chore, but knew no one else would do it. I grunted in displeasure as I leaned down and coated my brush in paint, then pressed it to the fence. Finally done procrastinating, I began, and I allowed muscle memory to take over.

Before long, I’d finished most of the fence and was just about to take a break when I heard my mother’s voice. Her call cut short as she took in my progress. Her expression was slack-jawed and her eyes bulged out of her head as she beheld the scene before her.

I think she liked it, but was just speechless at my talent.

  

Author’s Note:

The inspiration for this prose poem comes from Poppy’s Prompts - May Edition.

ProsehumorFree VerseFor FunFamilyfact or fictionchildrens poetry
11

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶12 days ago

    A lovely humorous tale… I loved… ‘ Finally done procrastinating, I began, and I allowed muscle memory to take over.’ I have two speeds: flat out and stopped! I just have to get started 🙄

  • ema13 days ago

    the same expression as my mother when she found me sewing on a button 😂

  • Poppy 13 days ago

    Hahah I love that the motivation to do it was seemingly just so that the Mum would be shocked that it had already been started before she asked😂

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    I don’t know what the challenge is but you got that fence painted😂😂

  • Hahahahahahahahaha gosh this was hilarious! She was speechless at your inner Picasso 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 The clomping of my reluctant feet, that reminded me of the heavy-footed tyrant from your story for the Missing Thingys challenge hehehehe. Sorry I forgot the title. For what it's worth, I forget the titles of my pieces too, so yea 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I loved this story so much!

  • Caroline Craven13 days ago

    I have just painted our deck so I think I have painting PTSD from your fence tale!! Ha! You did a great job. Nice one Donna!

  • JBaz13 days ago

    Lol, did my mom talk to you? This is great

  • very good

  • Mark Gagnon13 days ago

    I made money painting my neighbor's fence so for me, it was a great experience. You did a great job with the descriptors.

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    You really capture the sense of this chore - kind of loathed, but not entirely unpleasant once you've started.

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    I don't know what Poppy's challenge is this time round but I liked this description and the surprise and the general all round goodness of it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.