Poets logo

Expiring Love

It's over before its ever over!

By Dee HudsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Everything for you has an expiration date

Except the dishonesty that lies behind your eyes

It's the one thing to my surprise

That you could never hide from me

But lie to me

Because your tongue so sweetly

And discreetly breaths into my ear saying

What we both know isn’t true

Love is what you say I taught you

Well the lesson I got from you was

It's not what you say

But what you do

Because your actions never match your words

But some thing we can both concur

Since my senses came through

I can’t help but see the cold truth

Providing that roof was never enough

From keeping the floor from caving in from under my feet

How would you know

That I fell so low

You were to busy showing off that BIG OLE roof

When I was the one carrying all the weight

But in all the darkness I found this Golden Gate

I prayed to God I wasn’t to late

God said, Are you ready for your would to quake

So now I ask you are you ready for your world to shake

What you thought was aftershock

Was really only the count down

Remember that moment you thought

That you had everything on lock

That’s when I was receiving the key to the city

greeted by a full committee

Clapping and praising that I finally made it to the other side

Yo, I really thought I died

But then i realized

For the first time I was Alive

But wait wtf have I been doing this whole time

Scrambling my head like an episode of criminal minds

Only brought me to find that freedom has always been mine

The only thing in my way

Was my decision to be blind

And blindly misled

That you could only find love in a bed

Well I found love in my head

From opening my eyes

To see the disguise that created all the lies

To keep me hidden inside

It really hurts me to see tears fall from your eyes

The Moment my soul begins to shine

Didn’t anyone tell you there was a deadline

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.