Poets logo

Excerpts from my heart

a journey within

By Veronica Published 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Olivier Collet on Unsplash

“Stay woke”, they say

To a sleeping heart

Who once awoke too soon

Those desert skies

Reminded her why

The fall was too far

For forgotten lovers

So she placed

A blanket of stone

Over the beating organ

That once led the choir

Pumping blood

To the rhythm

Of love

Cobwebs

Cover the remains

Of a tattered love story

Scars -- a reminder of what once was

When paradise was a parade

People passing by

Celebrating paradigms

With percussion’s of perspective

Pulsating to the beat of forever

---------------------------------------------------------------

I loved them all, my men, with such a passion I could not explain.

Even the ones who left bruises and holes in my heart,

The ones who tore at my soul,

And left me questioning my existence,

They were the ones I often thought of and craved,

The ones I wished well.

They were the ones I knew needed the love the most,

For they suffered deeply,

Which is why they shook me to my core,

And for that I am grateful.

---------------------------------------------------------------

I don’t want to be lonely

But I just want to be alone

Still enough to hear only my thoughts

My desires

My manifestations

My magic

But instead the voices flow

Flood in

A river too deep

With nothing to keep

But lies and deceit

Softly I weep

In misery

Of my own device

More than any vice

I could ever make sense of

The idea of up above

Meant nothing if there was no love

--------------------------------------------------------

Slowly he creeps,

slithering his way,

back into unwelcoming arms.

But in the midst of temptation

she welcomes him in.

With an exhale,

a long awaited breath.

A relief from the depths

Of a suffering she had known.

A temporary fix.

She knows,

but still she holds,

onto this unanswered prayer.

He releases his grip,

slowly he slips,

out of her embrace.

She inhales and holds.

With out a word she knows...

excerptsheartbreaklove poemssad poetry
1

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.