Poets logo

Six Days & Counting Once

Poem. Lyrics

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
4

I listened to a song once and an hour later I learned my love had died

I listened to a song once and danger entered a love's nest at night

I listened to a song once and a day later I learned someone I loved was set on fire

Nine years later another one I love was stabbed multiple times, a new song played over the night

I listened to the radio and my father soared to the sky

I don't listen to those songs anymore lest I tear out my insides

If I sing a different song my heart moistens with thickened tears that make the fear disappear

That make the fear disappear

Now, with a burnt throat I lift my head higher and sing as if everyone can listen

Guitar strings I don't know how to play, glisten

In the air for a moment, I am part of everywhere

When those arms open wide way up in the sky, I hope I lift in harmony and not go the long way around

Six days to wait, dare I make a sound

And the train whistle blows like no tomorrow

*

Song LyricsheartbreakFree VerseFamilyBalladart
4

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    This is sad, relatable, and lovely at the same time. There are songs that make me smile and cry at the same time.

  • There's a lot of depth and symbolism in your words!!! Excellent work, Lisa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.