Poets logo

new year's resurrection

a destined resolution // divine winter

By Veronica Published 2 years ago 2 min read
2

this new year's resurrection

i proclaim the fluid fire in my soul

that it may drip delicately into the decay

of the winter that once made me weep

for i did not truly understand the weight

of the world when it lay down to rest

the silent whispers of blizzards

sweeping silken snow across branches

binding birds to the south

a journey i longed to join

i, too, would fly away

to the georgian shores

determined to avoid my slumber

i would awaken warm and enclosed

in sunshine and sureness

never needing to know another winter

i grew harsh as the ice bittered my confusion

how could a season take so much

bury me deep within myself that i may

not breathe solumnly

for i was anxious in my solitude

i gasped at the frigidness

that forced me to shift alongside her

pulled me deep under pearly white blankets

though heaven herself met me halfway

stealing my show, my selfish play

i could not face myself

for my masks i could not let decay

i hurried to shift them as the leaves

in autumn fall

i was ready to hide

so that they may not know my role

the charade i had come to know

so september came

and i flew

treaded tires wheeling like wings

hitting pavement poised to push forward

to the shores i would escape

like a goose i would lead

the point of the V

i paced towards humid homes

accents thickened in southern skies

country backroads covered in corn fields

whitened with cottoned concern

that i promised would never leave me cold

the way jersey winters always had

though years gone by

shivered i became

a bitterness leaked into my mind

i acted bolder but felt colder

denying the deaths that i needed to discover

the shedding layers that would push forth

self discovery not this putrid self hate

so as this summer burns out

sunny smiles turned autumn grins

i set forth towards decay

the death i am ready to take on

my greatest death yet -

pacing past the geese

=a Vision above=

swiftly in the sunshine

it fades to fall

as i give way to a new path

the one of waiting

in mountains of white

i head towards the north

where i will know a fresh start

for this new year's resurrection

i will forage and find

the reason i let myself fall behind

i will climb into the cave

slumber with the bears

will sink deep into silence

discover my share

for i await to be delivered

in His arms when spring blooms

as i sink into surrender

to the resolution

of the winter

divine.

excerptsinspirationalnature poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Oh wow, so much gorgeous imagery in this. This line especially spoke to me: "will sink deep into silence, discover my share." Beautiful work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.