Poets logo

Everyone is the "Main Character"

Poem by Lilian Wicca

By Lilian Wicca Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Dedicated to social anxiety.

A stupendous beauty, isn't it?

life equally corrupts and gives,

breaks and heals,

and as we live and learn,

the searching for what we love most, never ends,

we all live in our own worlds,

yet this whole society is made up of what we call, "main characters",

We are told that to be a main character, we have to be fun and likable or completely unavailable to seem cool, and most of all, beautiful or handsome to feel important.

if you have ever felt this need to escape reality, you are the main character,

if you feel connected to concepts that are beyond our natural belief, you are the main character,

but in reality we're all just trying to live and get through each day. Struggling with depression and trying to find happiness in a world that makes it so difficult. I tried to fit an image to be a "main character", to feel more important to myself and society. It did nothing for me, I just became a more lost version of the person I was.

If you breathe,

love,

cry,

feel guilt,

shame,

or depression,

If you struggle with your mind,

your body,

and your soul,

you are also, the main characters.

We all create our own stories,

and they are all equal in importance as you, the writer, the narrorator, and

your own main character,

no two stories are the same and no one lives the same life,

we are all going to die someday and,

I don't want to die, one day, knowing I was trying to live someone else's story,

...do you?...

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Lilian Wicca

In a world of lovely things we often find ourselves surrounded by endings. If I am to end someday, I'd like to be buried with the words of my thoughts

I'm a 19 year old poet, I love to write about love/death.

If you enjoy, please subscribe:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.