Poets logo

Questions for a Broken Record

Poem by Lilian Wicca

By Lilian Wicca Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Questions for a Broken Record
Photo by Kevin Andre on Unsplash

Music brings our souls to life but when I hear your song,

I want to cry,

What is it about your melody?

stabbing my very gut each time I hear the same chorus,

repeat it over and over, cause me more grief, please!

your story that you sing to millionaire strangers,

what do you want them to believe?

The lyrics are false and the story is missing,

yet those few details don't benefit you,

sing what you like to gain your truth,

believe your lie, yell it to the heavens,

I still won't listen,

We were right there, penniless but loving,

singing our record until insanity hit,

the same versus but the only difference being,

no listeners, or rather listener, was present,

Your broken record plays but I no longer hear it,

I hear nothing that speaks to my soul other than the silence,

where you once sang the real song,

and now you are gone.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lilian Wicca

In a world of lovely things we often find ourselves surrounded by endings. If I am to end someday, I'd like to be buried with the words of my thoughts

I'm a 19 year old poet, I love to write about love/death.

If you enjoy, please subscribe:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.