Poets logo

Every Inch

The Depths Of My Love

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
13
Every Inch
Photo by Taylor Vick on Unsplash

I want to hold you,

like ivy on a gate post.

I want to kiss you,

like the dew drops on the pane.

Till each inch of you, feels me.

Author's notes: This poem is in the Japanese Tanka style. This structure follows a syllable pattern of 5-7-5-7-7. There are two parts, the initial 5-7-5 known as the kami-no-ku or upper phrase, and the second half, 7-7, known as the shimo-no-ku or the lower phrase. Together, the poem is thirty-one syllables long. Originating in the 7th century, this form of poetry was the preferred form of the Japanese Imperial Court. These poems were often written by lovers to one another.

Each word is 4 letters or less for the Short and Sweet challenge.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Oh this is masterful, Kelli! Absolutely well-done. I did not know about this form, but I feel I will love exploring its potential. Amazing amazing work. "Like the dew drops on the pane" -- my favorite line. That image is so compelling, so sensual. Wow.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Kelli, I have no word to describe how beautiful your tanka is. One of the best I have read in years!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Hannah Moore11 months ago

    This makes me think also of how a house becomes home.

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Hey, just letting you know I shared this poem in my latest story: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences-pt2

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    wow, I absolutely adore this poem. The similes are awesome

  • Your poem portrayed a very calm and cosy love! Also, this whole time, I thought the upper 5-7-5 of the Tanka was the Haiku 😅

  • Simply beautiful. Love the ivy & the dew drops.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Quite a feat to meet the challenge and incorporate an unusual style, too. We done, Kelli and thanks for the interesting info on the form!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.