Poets logo

Everlasting Family

Never having to say goodbye

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
19
Everlasting Family
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Death is the cruelest event in anybody’s life

To lose a love one causes crippling pain,

Eventually, with time, life does go on

But you are never really ever the same.

***

Goodbye’s, one of the hardest thing to say

Parents loosing children, husbands loosing wives,

New born babies not even taking a breathe

Yet we are expected to get on with our lives.

***

If I ever had one wish that would come true

It would be for everlasting families all together,

No unexpected dying or heartbreaking goodbyes

To always have your loved ones now and forever.

***

I know this is never going to be feasible

But that doesn’t stop me from wishing,

I dread the day another loved one dies

Another family member forever missing.

**************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
19

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Brittany Miller2 years ago

    This hits close to the heart. The 2ed anniversary of my mama's death just passed, and I'm heartsick. If there is a time to want family to never die, it is when the pain is fresh or brought back anew. Thank you for writing this.

  • Beautifully observed

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    beautifully said. I think we all wish for this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.