Poets logo

Ever-baking, Squishy Brain

Grocery store connections

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
Ever-baking, Squishy Brain
Photo by vwz.photography on Unsplash

Dear little marshmallow mind,

-

I’m so mean to you.

I fistfight the nights of confusion you bring me,

which you don’t mean to bring me,

and I think you’d rather have tea than

make me silent-cry.

-

I used to scream at you when you made me

act nice to people that were rude.

I couldn’t turn off the ever-spraying faucet of love

that tormented me at the end of every relationship.

But I can almost see your point now.

-

I stopped in the bread aisle of the grocery store,

gentle eyes on a smiling old lady.

Her paper hands waggled with excitement,

a conversation brewing about Wonder Bread

and a gentle touch on my forearm.

-

I thank you immensely for knowing what to say,

my hands reaching to vine around hers in a way

that connected us like planets in a system,

breathing our air very close,

and completing a circle I didn’t know existed.

-

I don’t know the lady’s name,

but I could tell you she used to

eat peanut butter sandwiches with her grandpa

on their back deck,

which is a better identifier anyway.

-

I guess, rising dough and ever-learning organ,

if you’ve decided you won’t stop baking the bread

my mouth hands out to strangers

like a friendly little communion,

I won’t stop you.

-

Sincerely,

Your victim and admirer,

The rest of Your Body.

inspirationallove poems
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Okay, Lisa, you have officially captured me on every level: from the beginning where you have me biting my tongue it'll never start bleeding, to that sense of people watching as they go about their day with all the little kindnesses shared, to that moment of connection where it all comes home, when it becomes communion between two people in the purest sense of the word. Ideally paced, allowing us to linger in each of these moments of resentment, discovery, connection, communion just long enough to appreciate them, but not so long as to get us stuck there. Just right for allowing us to carry the anamnesis with us as sacred fare.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Lisa ~ I'm into 'Squishy-Minds' and Peanut 'butta. If you have a moment, please read my Love~Hate/ 'Circle of Life'.... You're 'Groovy!' - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • 😉💯❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.