Poets logo

ethereal

poem about the palpable and beautiful reality of true love

By zoe frenchmanPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
me with this poem’s inspo:)

our love feels magically ethereal;

the emotions you invoke are visceral;

i’ve lived my entire life in denial;

that i’m anything but skin, bones, and bile;

i’ve spent an abundance of days and nights;

with my mind rejecting the thought of lights;

i spent the majority of my years;

drowning in a puddle of my own tears;

that i neglected to see any beauty;

until i met you, and you accepted me;

i used to hone in on constant self-destruction;

until logical thinking escaped abduction;

ethereal, delicate;

patient, compassionate;

i crave your comfort everyday;

but i’m scared of you walking away;

i’m scared of abandonment, so i’ll push you out first;

sometimes it feels as if my fate has always been cursed;

although i’m not sure why i feel like i deserve pain;

i’m not sure how you change the chemistry of my brain;

you’ve allowed me to embrace the sensation of hope;

the pattern of balance is now in an upward slope;

prior to loving you, i assumed i’d be alone;

but you embraced my flaws and i adjusted your tone;

you shifted my perspective on life drastically;

the relief i feel when i choose to live candidly;

is the authenticity that i have wished to feel;

and all i’ve wanted is for happiness to be real;

ethereal, delicate;

patient, compassionate;

i crave your comfort everyday;

but i’m scared of you walking away;

i’m not sure why i’ve felt the need to push you out;

despite your true efforts to abolish my doubt;

you know that i love you and i know you love me;

so why am i always seeking out agony;

when you entered my life, i had an epiphany;

that i didn’t know the wonders of mere company;

i had been fixated on familiarity;

of the constant trend of others’ insincerity;

that i couldn’t fathom or grasp my reality;

that you have provided significant clarity;

by skewing my thoughts more toward rationality;

and i just want to thank you for believing in me;

and for all of my attributes i finally see;

if it weren’t for you, i’d probably still be deep;

in the hole of misery, and the climb up is steep;

but you would never allow me to remain that low;

instead, you supported me and loved to watch me grow;

and you’ve consistently made sure that i always know;

that my beauty is ethereal, i’ve got that glow;

that drew you in the first place, we never took it slow;

the romantic tension is bound to overflow;

and we gave it a chance to blow it up with a boom;

but we chose to watch as our love continues to bloom;

ethereal, delicate;

patient, compassionate;

i crave your comfort everyday;

i’m not scared of you walking away;

i love when you prove to me all the time;

that if i accept it, love isn’t a climb.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.